Body Image: Is Big Beautiful?

You are size 12 right? Not massively overweight but not skinny either? Been on fad diets but really love food? Wonder if you will ever have a figure like the ones you see everyone achieving? Yeah, well me too.

Every single morning I wake up, and say to myself, today is going to be the day that I change. Today will be the day where I turn into one of those girls on Instagram who has green smoothies for breakfast and takes pictures of berries delicately placed on their porridge. However, most days I fail. That is a lie. All days I fail.

I am not happy with my body. I have stretch marks, lumps and bumps, bulges in all of the wrong places and hate to look at myself in the mirror. I am sure that most of the people reading this blog will feel exactly the same as me. The problem is that all the women and men that we see are not these women and men, they are the people that have managed to make a change.

I have no idea what to do really. I would love to be one of those people but it is so hard. I am addicted to food. Totally. And I hate exercise. Will I be this size forever? Or will i grow?

Because of all of this, I have started to really hate myself. I look in the mirror and really really hate what I see. It does not help that I have a problem with my skin which causes me to have marks all over my body which is quite unsightly.

However, the point of this blog is not to ramble or moan. I see so often images of plus size models and women and men embracing the images and saying that โ€œbig is beautifulโ€ blah blah blah. But I really struggle with this image.

Remember at school when you were rubbish at maths? But you got the award for being the best trier, or having the most persistence. AKA, you are not very good but at least you try. I feel that these images have a slight tone if this kind. When I look at these campaigns, I feel sorry for the women being depicted because I almost feel that they are being shown as a second best type citizen, a kind of, aww never mind, you are pretty in your own way. I have no issue with women of any size, but struggle with the message behind these campaigns.

There are also so many messages about body shapes. Are you an apple, a pear, an hourglass or an inverted triangle? None of these. In the above picture, I am most certainly round.
Maybe I am the only person who feels this way, but would love to know other peoples thoughts on these campaigns, or if anyone as any advice for a girl who canโ€™t get her arse into gear and is scared she never will!

 

11 thoughts on “Body Image: Is Big Beautiful?

  1. tbymallano says:

    Honey I read you post and I feel you! In my early and middle 20s I use to struggle with body image, I didn’t like my small boobs, short legs. My acne was the cherry on top. I will be 30 soon, I haven’t been more in peace and content with what I have.

    My boobs are still small and my legs short but I am trying to make it work. Make peace and I know this will sound cliche but learn to love your body. I know you said you hate working out, I would recommend finding a sport you’ll love, not to loose weight but to work towards your happiness. I know you can…

    Love from https://tbymallano.com/

    Liked by 2 people

    • milliemondays says:

      you have no idea how much that means to be thank you so much.
      I have the opposite problem – massive boobs!! Im suer we both would like to swap?;) But I have always felt out of proportion how you described. I am so happy that you are happy with your body, you should be. lots of love!!!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DM says:

    I hear you, even though my battles were with different body parts…in my case it was my ears… I HATED my ears, (and my last name which is a whole nother story. I swore when I became an adult and had the $ I was going to get the surgery to have them “tweaked” I had a huge case of low self esteem/ I know was feeding off that physical insecurity… flash forward to my mid to late 20’s. Had someone work with my on low self esteem/ insecurity issues and my hangup with my ears began to evaporate (for lack of a better term) as well. I did have the money @ this point, and realized I no longer felt the same way. Our culture has so many screwed up messages we are constantly being bombarded by. Have you ever seen this Dove commercial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CV_Yhto-7fc Good blog post btw. You are on the right path! DM

    Liked by 1 person

    • milliemondays says:

      Oh my gosh I have never seen that commercial! How absolutely fantastic. I think the exact same thing applies to men as well, and part of the problem is that the media represents body image as only a female problem. I am so glad that you have managed to find comfort with your insecurities ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of love xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kwenzqoatl says:

    Im a big believer that you cant be “ugly.” Lets be honest looks are subjective. Whats in one moment can be out the next. Even if you are considered “ugly” by soceity there are so many people on this world that you will be able to find people that dont think that way. So you kinda just gotta say this is me and I know there are people that will love me for who I am. If you do decide to change something about yourself it has to be about you first and not what other people think. Ok now Im starting to ramble. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sandzano says:

    I can totally relate. Not so long time ago, I was also very unsatisfied with what my body looks like. I had a problem with being so called skinny-fat. I wasn’t overweight but my body just didn’t look so tight and nice as I wanted. So I started to workout (although I hated it) and started to eat healthier food (and I am a huge pizza fan and chocolate addict… :/)… Well, I tried many times, and failed many times but that’s ok. You shouldn’t be too hard on yourself. Try to make small changes. Deciding that I will not eat sweets at all, or that I will eat only “fitness-friendly” food never worked in my case. Instead, I tried to go small steps; for example, I eat sweets less often than I used to do (but I still eat them once or twice in a week). If I want to eat my favorite cake, I simply try to make a healthier version of it with less sugar so I use honey to make it sweet… Also, keep in mind that healthy food doesn’t have to be less delicious ๐Ÿ™‚
    And finally, working out is important. It is hard to start but once you get into it you will fall in love with it, trust me! Been there, done that. ๐Ÿ™‚ Try to find some activity you will like. Running or cycling, maybe even walking while listening to your favorite music… Or some group activity, for example zumba? I combine them all, and that helps me not to get bored with it…
    In the end, my body hasn’t even changed THAT much since I started to workout. Ok, I’ve lost some weight and built some muscles but that wasn’t some huuuge change, not one of those you can see on Instagram. ๐Ÿ˜› The biggest change that happened is that I feel much better. I am fine with my stretch marks, and it is ok if my butt is not perfectly tight, but I feel good because I do something for myself. And I am getting somewhere.
    It is ok to fail, as long as you try again.
    If you want take a look at the post I wrote some time ago about motivation:
    https://sandzano.wordpress.com/2016/11/19/summer-bodies-are-made-in-winter-the-ultimate-fitness-motivation-guide/

    Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. entrepreneurmama101 says:

    I struggled with body image as well. I was the reverse of you. I didn’t admire the stick thin models, I wanted to be curvy. Being both black and hispanic my family is full of big booty, broad-hipped women. I am neither. I have been skinny all my life and it took me being pregnant–and still skinny–to appreciate my body. There will always be “the grass is greener on the other side” mentality. I’ve found that the things I hated about my body other longed for and vice versa. I thought “If someone else can love this body, why can’t I.” I do understand your struggle and your love for food–I LOVE to eat as well–I hope that whether it’s weight loss or imbracing your size now, you find a love for your body!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

