Krakow: Places to See?

Following my recent, slightly disappointing (see previous blog) trip to Dublin, but my love for exploring cities, I have just booked a trip to Krakow in April with my boyfriend. I have always loved the idea of exploring Poland but I guess the cold weather rather put me off.

rynek_glowny_w_krakowie

The part of Dublin that I did not like was the lack of history and things to do there, and I was only there for 2 days! Therefore, my fear is that the same will happen in Krakow. In order to make sure this does not happen, I am going to plan like an absolute ninja and make sure that I know exactly what I want to do there before I go.

I am calling out to all of you lovely people to ask if anyone has any recommendations. Tips or advice? Places to see? I would love to hear all about your experiences! 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Krakow: Places to See?

  1. tapasytintocontigo says:

    Krakow is such a wonderful city!! I just got back from a trip there! There’s so much to do, a lot of history to explore, and the food is so delicious! I highly recommend Schindler’s Factory. Wawel Castle was gorgeous, and Kazimierz is a wonderful neighborhood with amazing restaurants. The Salt Mines are supposed to be fun, as well.
    And, of course, if you’re looking for historical sites, Auschwitz isn’t too far away, and there are regular buses to and from.
    Honestly, when my hubby and I first planned our trip there, I was afraid we would run out of things to do (we were there for five days) but we ended up not being able to do everything we wanted! We did spend a fair amount of time just exploring and walking around the city (it’s just so beautiful!), though…
    I’m actually working on finishing a post about my trip to Krakow now! I hope to have it up in a day or so. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Evangelina07 says:

    I will be going there this summer, so I am curious to see what others recommend. One must see visit will be going to Ausschwitz. It won’t be an easy visit but I feel it’s important.

    Like

  3. jessicageorginax says:

    I have just got back from Krakow & I can honestly say you won’t be disappointed! I had the exact same worry as you but I was surprised at the character of the city and the sheer volume of what you can do! We booked a trip to Auschwitz from a little tour operator in Kazimierz by our hostel, and the trip took 7 hours (hour and a bit transfer each way) and then a walk around both camps for 99 zloty (£19.50). Also there’s the salt mines, wawel castle, man square, trips to national parks, schnidler’s factory – but honestly just walking around you stumble on some amazing architecture. I’m just finishing a blog post on it now, but i’ll look forward to reading yours when it’s up! Have an amazing time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

